TopOfTheThread – it starts here…

Sports, shopping, college, politics, life, and more…

Cars Honking at Traffic Lights – There’s No Place Like Home

Posted by TopOfTheThread on July 5, 2008

I live in NY.

When getting outside the NY area, people do not immediately honk their car horns when the traffic light turns green. In NYC, and Long Island, if you do not immediately hit the gas when the light turns green, you will be honked at…

I have been doing a good amount of traveling the last few weeks. I visited Westport, CT (pleasure), Lenox, MA (pleasure), Baltimore, MD (business), New York, NY (business), Long Island, NY (pleasure). I always know when I am getting close to home (NY) because people are less patient and honk faster when the light turns green

I decided to put a stopwatch in my car. Whenever I was 1st at a red traffic light, I would wait up to 5 seconds when the red light changed to green. How long would it take for people to start honking at me?

(Chart contains the location and the time in seconds it took for someone to honk when the light changed from red to green)

how quickly do people honk when traffic lights change from red to green

how quickly do people honk when traffic lights change from red to green

As it turned out. and as expected, people in NYC honked the quickest and Long Island was the second fastest. There’s no place like home!

Leave a Reply

 
